Apply now for 2019


Governance at Simpson Avenue Academy is currently led by an Academy Improvement Board (AIB). We are in the process of transitioning to a Local Advisory Board (LAB).

An AIB looks after governance at a school for the short to medium term until a Local Board can be put together. Currently, the AIB is led by Mrs Barbara O'Brien and is made up of representatives from East Midlands Academy Trust, including the Principal, Alison Hawkes.

East Midlands Academy Trust is keen to establish a Local Advisory Board (LAB) at Stimpson Avenue Academy and have started the transition to a LAB. 

Local governors are responsible for supporting the school by acting as ambassadors and holding the school to account for the standards and performance of pupils.  They also monitor safeguarding, pupil exclusions and community engagement.

The Local Advisory Board will consist of ten people:

  • 5 appointed by the Trust Board (Trustees)
  • 2 co-opted by the Local Advisory Board
  • 2 Elected parent governors
  • 1 elected staff governor

We are looking for people with the skills and commitment to volunteer in this important role and will be sending out parent election information after Easter.  In the meantime if you have any questions about the role please do contact the Trust on

Our school is currently governed by:


Name Role Term of office
Barbara O'Brien AIB - Chair  
Joshua Coleman CEO - East Midlands Academy Trust  
Katy Russell Head of School Development, East Midlands Academy Trust  
Karen Glasse Trust-board appointed governor 20/09/18 to 19/09/22


Below you can find information about governance across the Trust, including details of our Members and Trustees.


You can read the minutes from the school's latest Academy Improvement Board meetings below.


Page Downloads Date  
SAA minutes SP 12 Dec 2018 Final 18th Jun 2019 Download
SAA minutes SP 16 October 2018 Final 18th Jun 2019 Download
SAA minutes LAB 08 November 2018 Final 18th Jun 2019 Download
SAA minutes LAB 07 February 2019 Final 18th Jun 2019 Download
SAA minutes SP 25 March 2019 09th Jul 2019 Download
Governor Attendance 2018 19 SAA 19th Aug 2019 Download
Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now